top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTiffany Alday

Reach for the Stars and Achieve Your Goals!

Updated: Jul 18, 2019


Photo credits go to Sharon Alday Key, thank you for allowing me to use your beautiful work, Aunt Sharon.

I have a plan for my future, so I have goals. Have you established any goals recently? Dreams that you have had that you turn into a reality, and start planning for are goals. I had a dream, and I started planning how to make that dream a reality.


Living in a small town, there are few job opportunities. After many unsuccessful job hunts, I became passionate about going back to college. I just don't have the time to "GO to college," and I don't want a JOB, I want a CAREER. K12, which is the school system my children use, gave their virtual students' Learning Coaches an opportunity to continue their education. That opportunity came at the perfect time too.


I have heard of online college, but was unsure if it would be a good choice. There were many things racing through my head like, would I have the time to do my own studies when I spend most of my day helping my kids. I am glad I looked into it because I think I have made the right choice.



I started planning my dreams and turning them into goals last summer. I did not realize I would obtain my Associates Degree so fast. I will have my Associates Degree at the beginning of 2020! I am able to set small term goals that go along with college. For instance, since my degree has 60 credits, I set a goal to complete 12 for each term to begin with. Before my first time was done, I found that I can push myself to complete 15 credits each term. So far, I have completed 2 terms, so I have 30 credits, however, this term just started July 1st, and before one month was up, I was able to master 9 credits so as of today, 7/18/2019, I have completed 39 credits!


However, I also have long term goals as well. My long term goals are what inspire me to continue my education. My long term goals are my children's future. I will keep up my perseverance and determination and I know that our future will be brighter.


When I think about how bright my future is, I can't help but think about this one girl in school. This girl wanted to pick on a lot of people because she was part of the IT crowd, and I was one of those she tried to call out. Everyday that girl saw me with my sunglasses on she would pick on me about how I was wearing sunglasses because my future is so bright. People really need to watch the things they say to others, but yep, my future is bright, in fact it is so bright I need sunglasses! This is for my bright future!



Continuing my education was a great choice for me. I have learned a lot that I will be able to benefit from. Since I am ahead in my studies, I am taking time to establish the pathway for my future. That is the reason for this blog, all the social posts, and social media accounts that I have created for my career. I can tell you this,before I started my "pathway" I HAD NO IDEA WHAT I WAS DOING. I had help from all the wonderful resources that are available to SNHU students. Everything I am doing was recommended to get ready for my career. The web presence says a lot, and it does not mean to use your personal Facebook account that shows all of your drunken escapades.


If you are interested in continuing your education, I recommend trying an online school like SNHU. Because it is virtual, you are in control of when you do your studies. I try to do mine when my children are not doing their studies. I was able to master 9 courses so far because it is summer break for my kids. However, when school is in session, I am not able to master my courses so fast.


What ever dreams you have had lately, when you plan your pathway to achieve your dreams, you are setting goals. Whatever motivates you, make it happen. Reach for the stars and take the extra mile to make it happen. When this happens, we will be looking at brighter futures. Thank you for taking the time to read this blog.



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page