top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTiffany Alday

Why Virtual School?




Virtual school may not fit to everyone's lifestyle. When I had children, I made the choice to dedicate myself for my children's education. Everyone should be entitled to a good education. It was an easy choice for us to decide to use virtual school. Given the school system in our hometown when we were younger, we wanted something better for our kids. I want them to have an opportunity to succeed educationally.


I researched virtual schools, and finally found Georgia Cyber Academy. They are powered by K12, however, at the end of last school year, we were notified that they will be changing the curriculum for this new year. My kids were enrolled in Kindergarten. There is a two year age difference between our tow kids, and my youngest has been right along side her every day.




Because of this , my youngest started school reading good! Before she started school herself, she was attending classes with her sister, and learning everything with her. Now that she is in school herself, she is a little advanced for her grade. I am proud. It took a lot of time, and it payed off. We have been a part of a virtual school for 5 years, and we love it! I think my children's favorite part of virtual school is the time they spend with the teacher in Class Connects. They are fun and engaging. The teachers are amazing at what they do, and they are the best resource to turn to when you need help. I have had plenty of times where I was unsure of how to explain to my fourth grader some new math that they were starting on. The teachers are my first option. I have had to learn my grammar school skills all over.


These are my girls, Cailey (right) and Allie getting ready for our first year in virtual school

If you are thinking about virtual school, you may want to look in to what you can expect. For every age child, the the amount of time the Learning Coach spend helping the child differs. For children in lower grades, the Learning Coach is needed more than for the children in higher grades. The Learning Coach's job is to ensure your child's education is on track.


Last October, Hurricane Michael put us out of internet for 21 days, therefor, we all got behind in our studies. While we were able to do work offline, we had to complete it in the Online Learning System, OLS. We were lucky to have had such amazing teachers who understood the disaster we were dealing with. The teachers helped me sort out all the crucial work that was fixing to expire and then pointed me in the right direction for the rest of the missing work. I am thankful to be a part of Georgia Cyber Academy, and cannot wait to see the new changes to this year's curriculum.



Helping my kids excel in school helped refresh my memory, and it has helped me with my virtual college work as well. K12 provided all the Learning Coaches with a discount to continue their education with SNHU online. I took that opportunity, and it has been a great choice for me. I know that my children will see me working on my own school work, as diligently as I do, and in turn, they will understand that achieving their education is important. Besides that, without an education, I will not have an opportunity to have a decent job. I don't want a JOB. I want a career, one I can be proud of. I am motivated to succeed. It was the best choice ever! I cant wait to see where it takes me.



A virtual school like Southern New Hampshire University, College for America is a great choice for many reasons. First, I was pleased with my Adviser, who helps me with achieving my goals and pointing me in the right direction for anything. Virtual college is flexible, so you can work on your on time. That was great for our family. Another reason for choosing SNHU is because of the way it is designed. You go into your coursework, read about the scenario, do whatever the directions are asking you (it is complex, and you need to take your time to ensure you answer everything on the rubric). If you follow the outline of directions they have set, and the rubric, you will excel. I have mastered several courses upon my first submission, but for the ones I had to revise, it was a learning experience that enabled me to get information from an expert reviewer. There were some submissions that I had to revise ten times, but for those that were hard, it helped me grow educationally.


You learn at your own speed. That is how I am able to master 15 courses every semester. It is a lot of dedication and hard work. But I know that my hard work and dedication is going to pay off sometime in the future. I have a positive outlook and I am aiming to help my children excel educationally, as well as myself.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page